Specialist Clinical Negligence Panel accreditation

Are you or members of your team ready for AvMA accreditation?

As an independent patient safety charity, providing advice and support to patients is central to our work.

It was through listening to the experiences of patients who had attempted to obtain redress and been badly let down by their legal advisors that led AvMA to pioneer the concept of clinical negligence as a separate specialism within legal practice. This led to the establishment of the first accreditation scheme for clinical negligence lawyers, the AvMA Specialist Clinical Negligence Panel.

The AvMA Panel has come to represent an essential quality mark for those clinical negligence practitioners who place clients at the centre of their practice.

AvMA is keen to support the next generation of specialist clinical negligence practitioners. This is to ensure that patients and their families will continue to have access to practitioners who are committed to providing specialist clinical negligence services which focus on the client’s needs. This has been the trademark of the AvMA Panel. AvMA therefore expects not only a high standard of legal service from its panel members but practitioners who are prepared to go that extra mile on behalf of their clients and who share AvMA’s broader aims and objectives on patient safety and justice.

If you are approaching 4-5 years PQE and are considering specialist accreditation, we would be very happy to talk to you about preparing for AvMA panel membership. We can give advice about the timing of your application, the type of experience AvMA is looking for, and any queries you might have about meeting the criteria. Our aim is to support you through the process.

We look forward to receiving your application and thank you for your interest in becoming a member of AvMA’s Specialist Clinical Negligence Panel.

For further details contact Liz Thomas

Application fee table

New members application pack


Case report form

Panel Questionnaire

Code of Conduct

Northern Ireland application pack

Booklet Northern Ireland

Report form Northern Ireland

Panel Questionnaire Northern Ireland

Code of Conduct Northern Ireland


Clinical negligence is an ever changing area of law and reaccreditation every five years ensures that members of the AvMA Specialist Clinical Negligence Panel continue to practice in line with current best standards. It also provides an important benchmark of current standards as well as highlighting the challenges facing patients and their lawyers. We will contact you when your panel membership is due for renewal.

Reaccreditation application pack 


Reaccreditation report form

Reaccreditation Questionnaire

Code of Conduct

Honorary AvMA panel members

Honorary AvMA panel membership is awarded to selected former AvMA panel members in order to recognise the longstanding and significant contribution that an individual has made in the field of clinical negligence and patient safety as well as to the work of AvMA, and to enable these individuals to continue to contribute their knowledge and expertise to AvMA in the interests of patients and their families.

Honorary AvMA panel membership guidelines